Manyama a big winner at #PSLAwards

Photo: Sipho Siso Thulani Hlatshwayo of Bidvest Wits, Lebogang Manyama of Cape Town City and Hlompho Kekana of Mamelodi Sundowns. Manyama walked away with the Footballer of the Season 2017, beating his pictured colleagues who were also nominees.


Cape Town City skipper Lebogang Manyama was the big winner at the #PSLAwards of the Absa Premiership held at the Sandton Convention Centre.

He walked away with close to half a million rand after scooping three top awards, including the coveted Footballer of the Season, pipping the likes of Thulani Hlatshwayo from Bidvest Wits and Hlompho Kekana of Mamelodi Sundowns.

The inspirational skipper of the Cape outfit walked away R425 000 richer after raking in two other awards as Players’ Player of the Season and the leading goal scorer with a tally of 13 goals, just one ahead of his nearest challenger, Tendai Ndoro of Orlando Pirates.

Read: Alexandra’s Manyama expected to sweep the boards at #PSLAwards

The Footballer of the Season award is voted for by the 16 coaches in the Premier Division while the Players’ Player of the Season is voted by fellow players from the 16 clubs in the Absa Premiership, while the Top Goal Scorer of the Season is by virtue of the highest number of goals scored.

Premiership reigning champions Bidvest Wits also enjoyed a successful night. Clever Boys coach Gavin Hunt was voted as the Coach of the Season, beating the likes of Sundowns’ Pitso Mosimane and former Cape Town City FC and now SuperSport United coach Eric Tinkler.

Wits keeper Darren Keet walked away with the Goalkeeper of the Season, at the expense of Sundowns international goalminder Ugandan Denis Onyango and Shu-Aib Walters of Cape Town City, while Wits captain Hlatshwayo took the Defender of the Season award.

Sensational Wits youngster Phakamani Mahlambi won the Young Player of the Season whiles his teammate and the club veteran, Daine Klate was voted as the MTN8 Last Man Standing for his sterling performance that helped his team lift the trophy.

There was more joy for maidens of the season, Cape Town City as their other player Aubrey Ngoma took two awards – the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament and the Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season.

Read: I will walk tall and victorious, says Manyama

Orlando Pirates’ Abbubaker Mobara won the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament while Lamontville Golden Arrows’ Nduduzo Sibiya

took the Nedbank Cup’s Most Promising Player.

Kaizer Chiefs’ Siphiwe Tshabalala’s goal against SuperSport earned him the Absa-lutely Goal of the Season, beating Baroka FC goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke’s stylish last-minute bicycle kick that earned them a point against the Buccaneers.

Send your congratulatory messages to Lebogang Manyama. Like the Alex News Facebook page to post your messages

Sipho Siso

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Who will be the ultimate winner of the Goal of the Season?